What Rough Beast…

I’ve had an image in my head for sometime now… it won’t shift.

I’ve expressed it in comic book form as a vision that the warrior St. George suffers in my book The White Ship. postcard-the-manticore…and I expressed it as a large live art cartoon of “Political Power and Greed Unchecked” at the last HumberStreet Sesh event (August 2014). Manticore 002 …and then showcased as part of the Illustrative Arts Exhibition in the Creative & Cultural Company gallery (again in August). Manticore 001 …it’s probably without doubt a manifestation of my constant returning to W.B. Yeats lines..

  A shape with lion body and the head of a man,
A gaze blank and pitiless as the sun,
Is moving its slow thighs, while all about it
Wind shadows of the indignant desert birds.

…and

what rough beast, etc

…but the beast I’ve been toying with in my head for a while has been the sight of this creature walking through the streets of a city, through a crowd like in the image above, a sort of inverse/malignant Aslan

And I thought “how would I make this happen?” (it would be great to see it at an Occupy rally or similar event)

Anyway, somewhere between my background as a theme-park and visitor attraction designer, and my love of the crazy Royal-De-Luxe style puppet experiences, this has started to develop. x Manticore Float The doodles above are my first pen on page realisations of the idea of “the Manticore” as a event piece (done over the Yuletide break this last December). …

~ by hesir on January 12, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
