Scott Street Bridge – Ink Sketch

A quick post showing the original inks before digital colouring…

Scott Street Bridge, built in 1901, is what’s known as a double bascule bridge (bascule is the French word for SeeSaw or Balance), of the type most famously seen at Tower Bridge, London.

The bridge is now permanently raised and has been since 1994, as the structure is too weak to carry traffic, having gradually deteriorated (it is 110 years old) by the mid to late 1980’s. However, the bridge, bridgemasters hut, railings and lamps were Grade II listed following its closure.

“A public consultation had been held in 1986, to determine its future. By that time a 10-ton weight limit had been set on traffic crossing the bridge, because of its poor state. Several suggestions were made as to its future. These were to close and demolish it; to refurbish it (at an estimated cost of £1.6 million); and to build a new bridge on the same site (which was costed at £2 million)”.*

Unsurprisingly, none of these actions have been taken… and I guess that just leaves (no pun intended) us with a curious landmark, a palimpsest of tagging and unitelligable graffiti, over a rusting frame… the home it seems to a large community of pigeons.
The day I was drawing this, I had my guitar with me, but it was still in its carry case, I could hear someone, across the water playing there own and singing, maybe on a break… just then one of the large petrol barges passed close by and the guy on deck looked up, and like a kid I found myself raising my hand to wave… he waved back and got on with whatever it was he was doing… I felt about 8 years old… but still pretty good.

I don’t think the pigeons noticed any of it…

Drawn the same day as this… https://apopheniainc.wordpress.com/2011/04/22/bankside-digitally-coloured-sketch/ (which I hope to get finished soon Les… maybe this next weekend).

*More info on Hull’s bridges can be found here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/River_Hull

~ by hesir on May 9, 2011.

4 Responses to “Scott Street Bridge – Ink Sketch”

  1. My second favourite bridge. Marvellous to see a different rendition of it.

  2. Hi Gareth, like the sketch, must say I find the bridge interesting, I’ve photographed it a few times, the fact that its been left in the ‘up’ positions for all these years leads me to think ‘only in Hull’ Cheers Neil.

  3. […] Scott Street Bridge has been locked in the open position  since the 1980′s, it may well stay that way until it […]

Leave a Reply

 
