Movie Posters (part 001)

Okay so I’ve been doodling thumbnails for some movie posters in my sketchbook whenever I get the chance lately after being inspired by Olly Moss and the others, see last submission…

These images below are the first to make it as far as the computer sketch stage… Just some ideas for Independent Cinema style posters… I think in this context (i.e. showing movies that people are familiar with at a smaller theater) you can probably get away with graphics like this rather than the flashy Photoshopped hard sell images we are now used to.

I think the spirit of Calvin & Hobbes was sitting on my shoulder for that one, strangely…

Still not sure about that one… I might post my alternative thumbnails later for a compare and contrast.

I was happiest of all up to now with this one I think… Trying to work like Olly Moss (see last post), and not just go for the obvious, in your face, swords and sandals tack, but get to the emotional core, as it were… and for me, that was the story about a man sick of fighting who just wanted to go home to his family and his farm…

I’ve another thumbnail of this which just shows him rubbing dirt/earth between his hands…

This might work well as a multi-part screen print.

~ by hesir on June 12, 2010.

3 Responses to “Movie Posters (part 001)”

  1. Really cool ones! Great job 🙂
    I also tried to create a bunch of minimalistic alternative movie posters for fun: http://stuff24.de/blog/10-minimalistic-alternative-movie-poster/

    Feel free to comment!

  2. Hi there, my name is Simon Hawes and I have recently launched a new website called alternativemovieposters.com, it is basically a showcase for people that create alternative movie posters. 

    I’ve just come across your site and think your work is amazing, and wondered if you would like to show some of your poster alternatives on our site. 

    We just post your work and link back to your own website, you will be joining an ever growing community of people the world over, and to have you on board would be fantastic.

    If you’re interested please take a look at the site to see the many submissions we’ve had already.

    Thanks for your time, and we hope to hear from you soon.
    Simon

    Simon Hawes
    07803 713 466
    AMP – home of the alternative movie poster

    http://www.alternativemovieposters.com
    http://tinyurl.com/3tdcspk

    • Sure why not… if you use my name on the site could you use both my given name and my web chop please, i.e

      Gareth Sleightholme/hesir

      Cheers.

Leave a Reply

 
